Call for Contributions

Welcome to the Call for Contributions of the E-Science Days 2019! We invite all authors to submit contributions about their latest research developments. We are looking for in-depth scientific contributions as well as best practice examples and case studies. All contributions will be peer-reviewed with regard to their novelty and thematic relevance. Contributions can be submitted in the following formats:

Paragraph New

Call for Abstracts

 

Authors of accepted abstracts will be invited to give a 20-minute talk (15-minute talk and 5-minute Q&A) at the conference. At least one author of an accepted paper needs to participate in the conference to present his/her work. The authors are asked to fit their contributions, if possible, into one of the following presentation formats: "Tandem-Talk" or "Technique-Track". As mentioned in the description of the formats, a "Tandem-Talk" is a joint talk with partners in the fields of IT infrastructure and research. Accepted abstracts can be extended to an article with a maximum of 12 pages, which will be published in the conference proceedings later on.

 

Maximum number of characters: 3000
Deadline for submission of abstract: 23.12.2018
Deadline for submission of full paper: 20.03.2018

Call for Posters

 

Authors of posters also need to submit an abstract that briefly describes the planned poster. If the contribution is accepted, the contributors are invited to present the poster at the E-Science Fair and in a dedicated poster session. At least one author of an accepted poster needs to participate in the conference to present his/her work. The authors only need to bring the final posters to the conference. An accepted contribution can be extended to a 2-page article which will be published in the conference proceedings later on. In addition, the posters will be published as open-access publications via Heidelberg University’s document server heiDOK.

 

Maximum number of characters: 3000
Deadline for submission: 06.02.2019

 

Lightning-Talks

 

The Lightning Talks format comprises short presentations focus on the key questions of the conference. There will be a 10-minute slot (5-minute talk and 5-minute Q&A) for each presentation during the E-Science Fair. At first, a short description of the planned presentation needs to be submitted. After the description has been accepted, the presentation slides have to be sent (as a PDF file) to the conference organization team. The slides will be provided together with a presentation laptop on the day of the presentation.

 

Maximum number of characters: 1500
Deadline for submission of short description: 06.02.2019
Deadline for submission of presentation slides: 20.03.2019

Workshops

 

Workshops offer the possibility to present services, tools or projects with practical use in a scientific context. The participants can be introduced to new topics by either concrete exercises or demonstration sessions. One workshop lasts 45 minutes. To offer a session, a description of the planned workshop needs to be submitted.

 

Maximum number of characters: 3000
Deadline for submission: 23.12.2018

The following is an overview of the conference’s main topics that revolve around but are not limited to the field of research data management:

  • Discipline-specific or multidisciplinary challenges
  • Institutional specific approaches and solutions
  • Open Data / Open Science / Open Access
  • Data formats and standards
  • Regulations and laws regarding data protection and data security
  • Quality Control (QC)
  • Specific and generic RDM tools
  • Archiving, reproducibility and data reuse
  • Data and knowledge networks
  • Education and training in RDM

The following list includes the members of this year’s programme committee that will examine the contributions which have been handed

  • Dr. Sabine Gehrlein - Library Director of the University of Mannheim
  • Petra Hätscher - Director of the Communication, Information and Media Centre (KIM) of the University of Konstanz
  • Prof. Dr. Vincent Heuveline - Managing Director of the Computing Center of the University of Heidelberg
  • Karl-Wilhelm Horstmann - Head of the Communication, Information and Media Centre (KIM) at the University of Hohenheim
  • Prof. Dr. Bernhard Neumair - Managing Director of the Steinbuch Centre for Computing (SCC) of the Karlsruhe Institute of Technology (KIT)
  • Prof. Dr. Gerhard Schneider - Director of the Computing Centre of the University of Freiburg
  • Frank Scholze - Director of the Library of the Karlsruhe Institute of Technology (KIT)
  • Prof. Dr. Thomas Walter - Director of the Centre for Data Processing (ZDV) of the University of Tübingen
  • Prof. Dr. Stefan Wesner - Director of the Institute for Organization and Management of Information Systems at the University of Ulm

Please note ...

… that all contributions can be written and presented in German or English.
… that every contribution will be examined by the programme committee and the organisers which means that not every contribution is automatically accepted.
… that you might receive feedback via email.

Call for Contributions

Herzlich willkommen zum Call for Contributions der E-Science-Tage 2019! Autorinnen und Autoren sind eingeladen, Beiträge über ihre neusten Forschungsentwicklungen einzureichen. Gesucht werden sowohl wissenschaftlich fundierte Beiträge als auch Best-Practice-Beispiele und Fallstudien. Alle eingereichten Beiträge werden auf Ihre Neuheit und thematische Relevanz hin begutachtet. Folgende Beitragsformate sind vorgesehen:

Absatz Neu

Call for Abstracts

 

Beiträge werden bei Annahme für einen 20-minütigen Vortrag (15 Minuten Vortrag und 5 Minuten Fragerunde) auf der Konferenz eingeladen. Es ist vorgesehen, dass mindestens ein/e Autor/in eines akzeptierten Beitrags zur Konferenz erscheint, um die eigene Arbeit zu präsentieren. Die Beiträge sollen von den Autoren/innen nach Möglichkeit in die Vortragsformate "Tandem-Talk" oder "Technik-Track" eingeordnet werden. Wie in der Beschreibung der Formate festgehalten, ist im Format "Tandem-Talk" ein gemeinsamer Vortrag von Infrastruktur- und Wissenschaftspartnern vorgesehen. Akzeptierte Beiträge können zu maximal 12-seitigen Artikeln ausgeführt werden. Diese werden im Nachgang der Konferenz im Tagungsband veröffentlicht.

 

Maximale Anzahl Zeichen: 3000
Einreichungsfrist Abstract: 23.12.2018
Einreichungsfrist Langversion: 20.03.2019

Call for Posters

 

Autorinnen und Autoren von Postern reichen ebenfalls einen Abstract als Kurzbeschreibung des geplanten Posters ein. Autoren angenommener Beiträge sind zur Präsentation der Poster im Rahmen der E-Science-Messe und in einer dedizierten Postersession eingeladen. Mindestens ein/e Autor/in eines akzeptierten Beitrags sollte zur Konferenz erscheinen, um die eigene Arbeit zu präsentieren. Die finalen Poster müssen von den Autorinnen und Autoren erst zur Konferenz mitgebracht werden. Akzeptierte Beiträge können zu maximal 2-seitigen Artikeln ausgeführt werden. Diese werden im Nachgang der Konferenz im Tagungsband veröffentlicht. Zusätzlich werden die Poster als Open-Access Publikation über den Heidelberger Dokumentenserver heiDOK veröffentlicht.

 

Maximale Anzahl Zeichen: 3000
Einreichungsfrist des Abstracts: 06.02.2019

 

Lightning-Talks

 

Das Format Lightning-Talks umfasst Kurzpräsentationen, welche sich thematisch an den Leitfragen der Konferenz orientieren. Hierfür sind 10-Minuten-Slots (5 Minuten Vortrag und 5 Minuten Fragerunde) während der E-Science-Messe vorgesehen. Zunächst wird eine kurze Beschreibung des geplanten Vortrags eingereicht. Nach der Annahme des Beitrags müssen die Vortragsfolien als PDF an das Organisationsteam der Konferenz übermittelt werden. Die Folien werden zusammen mit einem Präsentationslaptop am Vortragstag bereitgestellt.

 

Maximale Anzahl Zeichen: 1500
Einreichungsfrist Kurzbeschreibung: 06.02.2019
Einreichungsfrist Vortragsfolien: 20.03.2019

Workshops

 

Workshops bieten Raum für die Präsentation von konkreten Diensten, Tools oder Projekten. Dabei liegt der Fokus auf dem Einsatz und Nutzen für die Wissenschaft. Den Teilnehmern kann die Verwendung in praktischen Übungen oder einer Demonstration näher gebracht werden. Für einen Workshop sind 45 Minuten vorgesehen. Eingereicht werden muss eine Beschreibung des geplanten Workshops.

 

Maximale Anzahl Zeichen: 3000
Einreichungsfrist: 23.12.2018

Im Folgenden sind die Hauptthemen der Konferenz aufgeführt, die sich um das Thema Forschungsdatenmanagement (FDM) drehen, aber sich nicht ausschließlich darauf beschränken:

  • Fachspezifische oder disziplinübergreifende Herausforderungen
  • Institutionelle Lösungsansätze
  • Open Data, Open Science, Open Access
  • Datenformate und Standards
  • Datenrecht, Datenschutz und Datensicherheit
  • Qualitätssicherung
  • Spezifische und generische FDM Werkzeuge
  • Datenarchivierung, Reproduzierbarkeit und Nachnutzung
  • Aus- und Weiterbildung im Forschungsdatenmanagement
  • Daten- und Wissensverknüpfung

Das diesjährige Programmkomitee für die Überprüfung der eingereichten Beiträge setzt sich aus folgenden Personen zusammen:

  • Dr. Sabine Gehrlein -  Leitende Bibliotheksdirektorin der Universität Mannheim
  • Petra Hätscher - Direktorin des Kommunikations-, Informations- und Medienzentrums (KIM) der Universität Konstanz
  • Prof. Dr. Vincent Heuveline - Geschäftsführender Direktor des Rechenzentrums der Universität Heidelberg
  • Karl-Wilhelm Horstmann - Leitung des Kommunikations-, Informations- und Medienzentrums (KIM) der Universität Hohenheim
  • Prof. Dr. Bernhard Neumair - Geschäftsführender Direktor des Steinbuch Centre for Computing (SCC) des Karlsruher Instituts für Technologie (KIT)
  • Prof. Dr. Gerhard Schneider -  Direktor des Rechenzentrums der Universität Freiburg
  • Frank Scholze - Direktor der Bibliothek des Karlsruher Instituts für Technologie (KIT)
  • Prof. Dr. Thomas Walter - Direktor des Zentrums für Datenverarbeitung (ZDV) der Universität Tübingen
  • Prof. Dr. Stefan Wesner - Institutsdirektor am Institut für Organisation und Management von Informationssystemen der Universität Ulm

Bitte beachten Sie ...

... dass alle Beiträge wahlweise auf Deutsch oder Englisch eingereicht und präsentiert werden können.
... dass nicht jeder Beitrag automatisch angenommen ist, da das Programmkomitee bzw. die Organisatoren jede Einreichung erst einmal überprüfen.
... eventuelle Rückmeldungen per E-mail erfolgen.